Genesis 19-21: Destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah to the Birth of Isaac

I was hoping that the further I got into the Old Testament the more I would come around to it. However, it seems to be the complete opposite. I know that it’s not going to be all warm fuzzies and comforting hugs, but it still repulses me at times. For example, in this reading when men came to sexually assault Lot’s male guests, Lot offered the mob his virgin daughters instead. So I tried to find some commentary on what seems to me like the controversial teachings of the Old Testament and this is what I found:

When I first began watching this video I was kind of put off by the fact that “God wills people to die.” But then I realized that God has a really intricate plan and one that we may not fully understand. God may will our deaths, but He always has our best interest at heart because He loves us. In the end though, I would much rather read the New Testament any day, then again I have yet to finish Genesis. :)

Leave a Reply

