Crossroads 2013 Daily Reflection #1

LutherAt this very moment I am sitting in the Boston airport waiting to board my connecting flight departing for the West Coast. As I was eating the hamburger that I purchased for lunch I pulled out this little book of reflections that I had found yesterday at the local Catholic shop back home. Its entitled “Pro-life Reflections for Every Day.” Then I realized that I could not only read it myself, but share it with my readers! So here it is, the daily reflection for May 14th:

The authorities are God’s servants, and they devote themselves to this service.
– Rom 13:6

REFLECTION: As Martin Luther King Jr. said, the law cannot get the white man to love me, but it can stop him from lynching me. Laws restrain evildoing.
They also have power to shape minds and hearts. When our children learn in school that something is legal, they are learning that such a thing is right. Whether regarding abortion or anything else, both hearts and laws must be changed.

PRAYER: Father, give us a healthy respect for the power of law and a Spirit-filled determination to shape the law according to Your will. 

(Pg. 80, Pro-Life Reflections for Every Day by Father Frank Pavone)

Leave a Reply

