Real Sex: The Naked Truth About Chastity (Book Review)

A wonderful post on the topic. I will have to look into this book.

DANGITBILL!

real-sex-chastity“Lord, make me chaste, but not yet.” St. Augustine.

Chastity, or sexual morality, is perhaps the most unpopular of Christian virtues. Most people are glad that chastity is a virtue, but they are content that others are chaste. Others strive for chastity, but want to live life for awhile while single, pursuing the pleasures of pre-marital sex in a permissive culture. Augustine’s famous quote pretty much sums up the secret prayers of many Christians.

Part of me hesitates to call chastity a “virtue” because I think it connotes the idea that Christians can take it or leave it. In other words, I can choose to be a virtuous Christian or a regular sinning Christian like the rest of the crowd. But the other side of me likes the word virtue, because it stirs up in me a lofty goal that I am called to but do not ever completely attain…

View original post 1,000 more words

Leave a Reply

