Matthew 10-12: From the Misson of the Twelve to The True Family of Jesus

Tonight, instead of using the usual format, I felt called to provide a list of verses that spoke to my heart as I studied and contemplated the assigned reading. I hope that these excerpts will help to bring at least one reader closer to our Lord.

  • You will be hated by all because of my name, but whoever endures to the end will be saved. (Matthew 10:22)
  • Do not think that I have come to bring peace upon the earth. I have come to bring not peace but the sword. For I have come to set a man “against his father, a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; and one’s enemies will be those of his household.” (Matthew 10:34-36)
  • “Behold I am sending my messenger ahead of you; he will prepare your way before you.” (Matthew 11:10)
  • At that time Jesus said in reply, “I give praise to you, Father, Lord of heaven and earth, for although you have hidden these things from the wise and the learned you have revealed them to the childlike.” (Matthew 11:25)
  • Come to me, all you who labor and are burdened, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28)
  • Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters. (Matthew 12:30)
  • Either declare the tree good and its fruit is good, or declare the tree rotten and its fruit rotten, for a tree is known by its fruit. (Matthew 12:33)
  • When an unclean spirit goes out of a person it roams through arid regions searching for rest but finds none. Then it says, “I will return to my home from which I came.” But upon returning, it finds it empty, swept clean, and put in order. Then it goes and brings back with itself seven other spirits more evil than itself, and they move in and dwell there; and the last condition of that person is worse than the first. (Matthew 12:43-45)
  • For whoever does the will of my heavenly Father is my brother, and sister, and mother. (Matthew 12:50)
Leave a Reply

